Family Values @ Work

Labor Project Co-Sponsors Pregnant and Breastfeeding Workers Webinar

Labor Project Co-Sponsors Pregnant and Breastfeeding Workers Webinar

April 12, 2017

Most women entering the labor force today will become pregnant while working. As the rights of unions and women are increasingly under attack, promoting workplace protections for pregnant and breastfeeding workers is critical to the labor movement’s success. During and after pregnancy, workers are particularly vulnerable to job insecurity and unfair treatment, which often goes undetected. But unions are well-positioned to ensure pregnant and breastfeeding workers are treated fairly on the job. Join this one-hour workshop to learn about the supportive role unions can play in promoting protections for pregnant and breastfeeding workers.

In Solidarity: Union Support for Pregnant and Breastfeeding Workers
Join Center for WorkLife Law, Labor Project for Working Families, AFL-CIO, and UFCW for a live webinar on April 18 at 11am PT/1pm CT/2pm ET

REGISTER NOW

Presenters:
Carol Joyner, Director, Labor Project for Working Families
Tiffany Beroid, UFCW & Past Leader of “Respect the Bump”
Yona Rozen, Associate General Counsel, AFL-CIO
Liz Morris, Deputy Director, Center for WorkLife Law

Suggested Audience: This webinar is ideal for shop stewards and labor educators looking to understand what legal rights pregnant and breastfeeding workers have under federal and state law, and how to use common collective bargaining agreement terms to ensure fair treatment. You will learn about the accommodations pregnant and breastfeeding employees may need to continue working while maintaining a healthy pregnancy, as well as practical tips for counseling members and handling related grievances. This workshop will also provide valuable information for workers wanting to understand their own legal rights and best workplace practices during pregnancy and breastfeeding.

Comments

comments